There’s only one eatery in Toronto with a roti powerful enough to set your mouth on fire and burn a hole in your stomach, and that’s Ghandi Roti located on Queen Street West. Don’t let the virtuous name fool you, this is one place that will leave you cursing the day you ordered a medium-spiced roti causing you to weep with each bite.

The extensive menu at Ghandi consists of eighteen varieties of rotis and a handful of rice dishes. I strongly recommend you order one of their legendary rotis, my favorite being the Cauliflower with Potato ($7.95) seen above. They’re served super-sized and can easily be shared or saved for another meal.

Everything is made fresh here including the East-Indian-style shell, right before your very eyes. This no-frills, hole-in-the-wall seats a maximum of 10 people and is a favorite among Torontonians. My only qualm is the wait time which can be up to 30 minutes — a torturous eternity as you impatiently smell the fresh aromatic odors of curry.

My only piece of advice is DO NOT order your dish spiced medium or higher. I can’t stress this enough. If you’re ready to lose all sensation in your mouth, then by all means go for it. But don’t say I didn’t warn you to be prepared to hold onto your pants (if you know what I mean, and I think you do).

Ghandi Roti / 554 Queen Street West
416 504 8155 / Mon-Fri: 11:30 am-10 pm

