About five months ago, I wrote a post dissecting my dining experience at La Esquina. To sum it up, I basically concluded my preference was to skip the sit down cafe-style restaurant and instead head over to the taqueria for quick and easy fish and avocado tacos. But you know what? I think I spoke too soon and may have to renege on my previous conclusion after experiencing an unexpected, delightful brunch at the suggestion of a friend.

Latin brunches are, by far, my favorite kind. Huevos, fried tortillas, frijoles negro, chorizo. I’m salivating just thinking about the endless possibilities! So I was willing to give La Esquina’s brunch the benefit of the doubt and sat in awe perusing the mouthwatering menu.

My Sunday brunch companion ordered the Huevos Chilangos (see photo above) for a measly $11. The large crispy brick is actually fried quinoa potato crisp which is a unexpected twist on the traditional hash. Sitting on top of the quinoa slab are two poached eggs, chorizo and a tomatillo avocado salsa. Oh and by the way, he happens to be gnawing on a Elotes Callejeros ($3.50) which simply translates into grilled local corn. Although the negative Nelly in me, has to say that I prefer the grilled corn offered at Café Habana which also happens to cost much less at $1.75.

For my meal, I decided to go with a classic and ordered the Huevos Rancheros ($10.50). This dish varies from restaurant to restaurant and my main complaint is usually the fried tortillas end up a big mushy mess. But, by the time I had consumed the two poached eggs, black beans, queso fresco and a swimming pool of salsa rojo the fried corn tortillas were still crunch-worthy! A definite bonus in my books.

We at Plato Putas always strive to give you an honest account of our experiences, whether that be good or bad. And sometimes we need to revisit a place in order to see what everyone else raves about. So what am I trying to say here? La Esquina, I’m sorry. It wasn’t you, it was me. Still friends?

La Esquina / 114 Kenmare Street
646-613-7100 / Hours: Daily, noon-2am

