mac&cheese1

It’s no secret that we’re big fans of Mac & Cheese, whether it’s our spicy favourite from Caren’s Wine Bar or Trader Joe’s tasty boxed variety. So when The Appetizer blog graded Nativa Organic’s Macaroni & Cheese Dinner the highest on their taste test, I ran straight to Shoppers Drug Mart to pick up a box for $1.79.

I’d never tried this brand before, so I was pleasantly surprised by the thick cheesy sauce. I’m used to significantly cutting the amount of milk I put into Kraft Macaroni & Cheese (usually less than half the recommended milk, and less butter) because I don’t like pasta sitting in a milky orange soup, but Nativa’s cheese powder got thick very quickly. I’ve also tried Nativa’s White Cheddar & Shells and I have to say both are better than the KD we know and love.

And ’cause Mac & Cheese just isn’t right unless you make it your own (use ketchup, wieners, or tuna — we are equal opportunists), I added in shredded marble cheddar, some chopped fresh parsley and dashes of El Yucateco Green Habanero hot sauce.

mac&cheese2

What’s your go-to brand of this childhood favourite and how do you tailor it for your taste buds? Let us know how you pimp your Mac & Cheese.

