Imagine walking into a midtown Japanese food joint and coming across a wall of this! Stacks of freshly made sushi in every flavor possible, soups, seaweed salads, bento boxes, onigiris and more! You’d think you died and went to nori heaven right? Well think again, looks can be deceiving.

I met a friend for lunch and we decided to hit up Chiyoda Sushi located at 16E 41st Street. The front part of the eatery contains enough take-away sushi to satisfy a hungry mob, while the back half houses a clean, minimal sit-down restaurant which is right where we headed. We were promptly seated and I was optimistic, the place was rammed.

I should have known something was up when I received my bowl of chunky miso soup. Should I use a fork or a spoon? Halfway through, my gag reflex kicked in when I was no longer sure what I was eating. I know it was a vegetable of some kind, but the whole thing tasted bland and lumpy.

I kept my main simple and ordered the Dragon Roll along with a healthy cucumber roll. You can’t mess that up right? Wrong! Why would you put BBQ sauce on a Dragon Roll? I wasn’t’ sure what was going on with the eel, but it tasted like a pureed mush fit for a baby. Which I guess was appropriate at this point in the meal since I was ready to cry like one and could feel a severe case of heartburn settling in.

All in all, I was pretty disappointed after learning Chiyoda Sushi is a chain with over 250 locations in Japan. They claim they’ve modified their menu to satisfy the unique palate of New Yorkers. I’m not exactly sure where they’re doing their “extensive research,” but all we New Yorkers want is the fresh taste of Japan on a plate minus the heartburn aftermath. Is that too much to ask?

Chiyoda Sushi / 16E 41st Street
212-400-8880 / Hours: Lunch (Mon-Fri): 11:30am – 2:30pm; Deli (Mon-Fri) 10:30am -8:30pm, (Sat) 10am-7pm, (Sun) 11:30am-6pm

