ackee1

Finding a decent lunch near my workplace is always a conundrum. I need something that’s not too heavy so I won’t be caught snoozing by 3 pm, something that’s not too expensive so I can still afford a dinner out on the weekend, and something that’s definitely scrumptious to help escape the monotony of my workday. I, along with my co-workers, solve this problem by heading to the Ackee Tree (170 Spadina Ave.) for their tantalizingly affordable Jerk Chicken.

Not only is this meal cheap ($5.50 for the daily special), it’s hands down the best jerk chicken I’ve tried in downtown Toronto. The chicken skin is crispy, laden with a secret recipe that hints at soy sauce, jerk and it’s got a nice kick to it. I hate when jerk is too bland. The meat itself is always juicy, moist and tender. Plus, it comes with rice and peas (or white rice) and coleslaw. There’s also a medium-sized portion for $9.95 and a large for $10.95. Rumour has it Ackee’s Jerk Pork is also fantastic, but only served between Thursday and Sunday. Another workplace favourite is their Jerk Chicken Sandwich ($6.99) accompanied with tomato, sweet potato and jerk mayo between coco bread with a side of coleslaw.

ackee4

Other daily specials for $5.50 include the BBQ Chicken and Stew Chicken. I’ve tried both and by far the Jerk is my favourite. Between 11 am to 2 pm, there’s a wide selection of lunch specials. For $6.50: Curry Goat, Curry Chicken, Stew Beef, Dis & Dat Veggie Plate or Kingston Salad. For $7.50: Oxtail or Ackee and Saltfish.

ackee3

Best of all, Ackee Tree serves their specials in biodegradable containers and if you bring your own container, they’ll also knock off 10% the price. If you’re in the downtown area, check it out for lunch. You’ll very likely bump into one of their regular lunch-time customers, my many co-workers, or little ol’ me.

ackee

Ackee Tree / 170 Spadina Ave., Toronto
416 866 8730 /Mon-Thurs 11-10, Fri & Sat 11-11, Sun 12-8

