kd_a

Dinnertime isn’t always about creating the most elegant, refined dishes or using unique ingredients. We so often forget the joys of eating simple meals or, more poetically, simple trailer-trash meals. To me, one of my all-time favorite comfort foods is a creamy, cheesy bowl of Kraft Dinner. That’s right, I said it and I’m not ashamed to admit it. KD is a classic dish that can be put together in under ten minutes while whisking you down memory lane to those times of pulling all-nighters and sleeping on a futon.

I’ve grown-up (somewhat) since my college years, but I still occasionally pull out a box of the cheesy stuff. I will say my palate has refined since my twenties and I’ve recently ventured off to discovering a more mature version of Kraft Dinner that I’m not embarrassed to store in my pantry.

kd_b

Next time you find yourself in Trader Joe’s, pick up a box of Gluten Free Rice Pasta & Cheddar. It’s marginally healthier than the Kraft Dinner classic since it uses rice pasta instead of wheat, and it’s also recession friendly and costs pennies a plate. Back in the day I would have paired my KD with a chopped up wiener and a squirt of ketchup, but these days I keep it adult-like by adding a few fresh sprigs of homegrown basil and a healthy, crispy side salad.

Did you know Canada consumes, per capita, more Kraft Dinner than the United States? Holy cheesie-noodle Batman! As an expat living in New York City, this is one more reason to make me a proud Canuck.

