chips_a

Bangers and Mash, Mushy Peas, Welsh Rarebit, Baked Beans on Toast and Steak and Kidney Pie. Have I tempted your culinary randiness yet? The British fare served up at The Park Slope Chip Shop (383 Fifth Avenue) is absolute ace! Surrounded by a sea of organic healthy eateries, this deep-fried, micro-sized restaurant is there to remind us of the joys of eating, the Limey way. And you’d be daft not to appreciate the authentic menu, mustard colored walls or the full-on British paraphernalia and insignias in every nook and cranny.

My go-to meal to remind me of the Queen Mum herself is some good old fashioned fish and chips. The Chip Shop offers up a few varieties of fish, like cod or haddock, but I opted for the Plaice which is a white flat fish, softer and supple in texture. I was served two large golden-battered, oven-shaped mitts of fish over a heaping-pile of fresh cut chips with tangy tartar sauce ($12.75). Feeling the need to balance out the grease factor, I also ordered a side of Garden Peas ($2.50) which made me feel less guilty about my main guilty indulgence.

chips_b

After the first bite I was immediately transported to memories of my English childhood. My family and I would dine weekly at the neighborhood chip shop where we’d be served Fish and Chips wrapped up in the local newspaper. Oh, those were the days. At least I now have a place in New York where those nostalgic moments can instantly be served up and washed down with a fizzy Ribena. Pip Pip!

The Park Slope Chip Shop / 383 Fifth Avenue (at 6th Street)
718 832 7701 / Hours: Mon-Thur: 12pm-10pm; Fri: 12pm-11pm, Sat: 11am-11pm, Sun: 11am-10pm

