egg_a

Egg (135 N 5th St), a southern-style restaurant, serves up possibly the most egg-ceptional brunch in the Brooklyn borough. I heard this place was legendary, so when a good friend, Naomi, and I set out Sunday for a retail-therapy mission we knew it would be the perfect place to fuel our bodies. There was some serious credit-card damage to be done and we needed the energy to last the day. How did we gear up for the pending shopping hours ahead? Simple, by ordering the Eggs Rothko ($8.50).

egg_b

Believe me, this is one intense dish: Take a slice of Amy’s brioche bread, cut out a hole and insert an over-easy cooked egg. Then smother the entire thing with melted sharp Grafton cheddar cheese, serve it with a side of delicious broiled sweet tomatoes and your choice of either meat or seasonal vegetables. I opted for veggies which happened to be one of my all-time favorites, steamed kale. But I couldn’t leave it at that, I absolutely had to have a side of Hashbrowns ($2.50) cooked up in a crispy golden ball. My one regret is not ordering one of Eggs’ most infamous items, a Buttermilk Biscuit with a choice of molasses, honey, or jam ($3). Oh well, next time. And believe me, there will be a next time.

Overall, I thought the meal was a feast for the eyes and rich in flavour. But I was a little disappointed with the consistency of my egg which had been cooked too long. A slight case of food envy set in as I watched Naomi. Her egg was soft to the touch and the yolk quickly exploded with the spear of a fork. The yellow golden mess was instantly sopped up by the crispy, toasted bread. I’m still feeling the pangs of jealousy!

IMG_4438

Here’s a little tidbit for you, Egg isn’t a place strictly reserved for breakfast or brunch. They’re also open for lunch and dinner with a menu to boast. Dishes like the Fried Oyster Sandwich ($12) or the Four Pig Platter ($19).

Be sure to hit up Egg next time you find yourself wandering the hipster capital of New York. Get there early, line-ups are a bitch. But you can always pass the time watching the sea of beardos and metro-gnomes walk on by.

Egg / 135 N 5th St
718 302-5151 / Hours: Mon-Tue 7am-3pm; Wed-Fri 7am-3pm and 6pm-10pm; Sat-Sun 8am-2pm and 6pm-10pm

