popchips_a

Now, I’m probably the biggest potato chip fan around. My mantra is “All hail the potato chip.” Hey, my mom worked for Walkers crisps in the UK so I was practically raised by spuds. But nothing has won my heart more that Popchips, so much so that I wanted to share them with you, our loyal readers.

popchips_b

Why do I love Popchips more than life itself? Well, for starters, they advocate snacking. They believe there aren’t enough meals in a day, promote spoiling dinners on a regular basis, and feel it’s perfectly fine to polish off an entire bag. All logical reasons to me.

Popchips have been popping up in stores across North America and have revolutionized the world of potato chips. Say goodbye to fried, say farewell to baked and say hello to popped! By adding a little heat and pressure, the potato chip pops into shape which means they’re less than half the fat of fried potato chips and minus the trans fats and cholesterol. The only thing that remains is natural flavour and plenty of crunch.

For research purposes, I felt it necessary to buy a bag of each flavor, seven in total. All in the name of scientific research, of course.

Here’s a breakdown of each flavor:
Barbecue:
Yee-haw, strap on a bib and pass me a bag. This chip has a smokey kick followed by a slightly sweet crunch.
Sour Cream & Onion:
A fond throwback to the days when I was eight years old, rocking out to Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers in my friend’s basement consuming countless bags of $0.99 Sour Cream & Onion Rings. These ones are better cause there’s no powdery aftertaste.
Original: A little lackluster for my taste buds, but what else would expect from Original? A safe staple for those who like to color in the lines.
Cheddar: Full-on crispy cheese crunch and so much better than Cheetos. No more embarrassing orange nicotine-stained fingers!
Sea Salt & Vinegar
: My daily go-to post-lunch snack. I hide a bag under my desk and secretly eat them, always refusing to share.
Salt & Pepper:
Sorry Popchips, this is my least favorite flavor. The chips are a low on salt and heavy handed on pepper. But all is not lost and I’ll give these chips one thumb up for its regal black-speckled appearance.
Parmesan Garlic: For those Canadians, this flavor reminds me of the all-time favorite President’s Choice White Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese dinner. That’s right, I dare to compare to the untouchable KD. But Popchips kick it up a notch with a subtle hint of garlic.

Now you’re probably asking “Where can I get my hungry paws on a bag?” For Canadian snackers Popchips are sold at Shoppers Drug Mart, and if you’re in the U.S., check here for a list of stores. And remember, keep on snacking!

