TOsushi10001

Thanks to Sushi 930 (930 King St. West, east of Stratchan), sushi-to-go has never looked so good or tasted so fresh. I recently discovered this tiny restaurant that’s all about Japanese take-out. The price point is slightly higher than average but thanks to owner Tomo, the quality and selection of fish are exquisite.

I ordered the Sashimi Sakura ($19.95) which features seven types of fish based on the chef’s picks of the day. Mine contained Hiramasa (King Yellowtail), Amaebi (Shrimp), Tuna, Albacore Tuna, Salmon, Aji Tataki and Sea Bream marinated with Kelp.

IMG_0980

Sushi 930 does swift business and I’ve heard it can take up to an hour for your order to be ready for pick up. However, when I called ahead on a Saturday evening, my order was ready in 10 minutes. The menu also boasts sushi and maki sets, bento boxes and typical a la carte items like Gyoza and Dragon Rolls. And for all of you in the ‘hood, word on the street is they also deliver.

Of course, there’s also downmarket options for take-out sushi (aka “mall sushi”) like Mac Sushi and Sushi-Q. I may come off as a sushi snob, but when I’m peckish, I pick-up a six-pack of Sushi-Q’s Salmon Maki. Clearly, it’s nowhere near the quality of Sushi 930, but sometimes quick, easy and cheap does the job.

TOsushi20001

Sushi 930 / 930 King St. West, Toronto
416 603 9992 / Mon 5-9, Tues-Fri 12-10, Sat 4-10, Closed Sun

