IMG_3782

After forty-seven excruciating mosquito bites and an hour of back-breaking labor, I was the proud owner of half a Ziplock bag full of freshly picked wild blueberries. Most people wouldn’t understand my dedication, but I was on a mission: To remove all fresh blueberries from the premises so I could hoard every last juicy berry. And I would have succeeded if it hadn’t had been for those pesky mosquitoes which sent me screaming like a schoolgirl out of the bushes, arms flailing.

My blueberry-picking expedition was completely unexpected. My friends and I drove to a hiking spot in upstate New York to escape the city and reconnect with nature. After a dip in Beaver Pond, we quickly realized we were surrounded by nature’s candy. Bushes containing black pearl-like gems gleamed in the afternoon sun. Jackpot! Not many people know that wild blueberries are smaller than regular berries but more intense in colour and flavour.

IMG_3800

Blueberries are busting with antioxidants, but did you know the wild variety contain approximately 50 percent more antioxidants than cultivated blueberries? Next time you find yourself out and about in nature, take note of your surroundings. Wild blueberries are in prime season right now so don’t forget to pack some Ziplocks. Happy picking!

