soyegg

I’ve been making hard-boiled eggs for most of my life. But only now have I perfected it. Thanks to chef Roger Mooking, putting salt and pepper on an oeuf is now a thing of the past. It’s all about a few carefully placed drops of soy sauce. I understand your skepticism — it does seem odd. But try it once, and I promise you’ll make it again and again.

I love eggs so much I can eat them at any time of day. For example, a late-night omelette really hits the spot. However, making eggs after 3 a.m. can be hazardous to your health. I’ve experienced the unpleasant sensation of a scorching hot, melted Kraft cheese slice oozing between my toes when I dropped an omelette on my foot after an unsuccessful transfer from hot pan to plate.

According to his website, Roger loves eggs as much as I do. So when he invited Plato Putas to his kitchen at Nyood, we pressed him for his three favourite ways to enjoy an egg.

Roger Mooking’s Perfect Hard-Boiled Egg
1. Put egg in an uncovered pot of cold water and bring it to the boil.
2. Once it boils, turn the stove off, pull the pot off the heat, cover it and let it sit for exactly 15 minutes.
3. Drain the hot water and continuously flush the egg in cold water until the egg is stone cold.
4. The eggs will be perfect and really delicious with a little bit of soy sauce, which is how Roger ate them growing up. You could also dip it in a bit of kosher salt.

When Roger’s not eating hard-boiled eggs, frying an egg in butter, or making hollandaise sauce, he’s busy as the co-owner and executive chef of Nyood and Kultura, and hosts Food Network Canada’s Everyday Exotic. He also taught us Knife Skills 101, and invited Plato Putas to visit his newest dining venture which we’ll be previewing very soon. Stay tuned!

