tims copy

There’s always time for Tim Hortons. Ain’t that the truth! As a Canadian expat living in New York City, I was thrilled to read about Tims stealth-like takeover of numerous Dunkin’ Donuts spots. Twelve locations in Manhattan were magically transformed over a span of three days into the familiar red, brown and beige.

thegoods

This meant one thing, road trip! Well, in our case, subway trip! Myself and four lovely fellow expats met up in midtown at Broadway & 34th street to taste some Canuck nostalgia and reminisce about our favourite Tim Horton moments. After eating our way through a Timbit Snack Pack, Honey Cruller and coffees, here’s what they had to say:

linda

Name: Linda
Years as an expat: 10
If I was a Timbit I would be an apple fritter because I’m a cinnamon girl!
Worth a return visit? I sure will visit an American Timmies, to introduce my Yankee hubbie to the wonders of the Canadian donut world.
Verdict: Timbits were just like home—could there be a more perfect proportion to a ball of fried dough? But I do miss the old style Timmies ceramic cups which NY would never do since it’s always on the go. What ever happened to “stop and have a cup of joe?”

balint

Name: Balint
Years as an expat: 2.5
If I was a Timbit I would be a chocolate Timbit because then I’d be the king of Timbits.
Worth a return visit? If its nearby I’ll indulge, but I’m certainly not going out of my way to buy donuts at a shared counter with a KFC restaurant. I also like the idea of Tims staying in Canada. It’s confusing to have a smell and flavour associated with Ontario elbowing its way into New York.
Verdict: Coffee is the same good stuff, donuts are weak.

lise

Name: Lise
Years as an expat: 4
If I was a Timbit I would be a rainbow sprinkles Timbit because they don’t make rainbow sprinkles Timbits and I wish they did!
Worth a return visit? No way eh, cause I don’t like my donuts mixed with KFC and 34th street chaos.
Verdict: I miss the days when a Tim Hortons was simply a Tim Hortons. A place where moustached police would make pit stops and grannies would go for a cup o’ coffee. I also don’t like that on the coffee cup it states Tim Horton played for the New York Rangers and the Buffalo Sabres but not that he was in fact a Canadian who also played for the Toronto Maple Leafs! There’s no mention anywhere Tim Hortons is a Canadian institution and that makes me give it a big two thumbs down. Sorry Timmy, but you’ve sold your soul.

natalie

Name: Natalie
Years as an expat: 2.5
If I was a Timbit I would be a honey cruller because they are the most delicious.
Worth a return visit? I indulge once or twice a year at most. My snacking needs lean more towards french pastries and full fat cheeses.
Verdict: Here’s a sweet “Tim Bit” from Wikipedia: “In 2003, the Dunkin’ Donuts chain of doughnut shops stopped carrying traditional crullers claiming that the hand-shaped treats were too labor intensive and couldn’t be simulated with new machines for mixing doughnut batter.” LAZZZZZY! Clearly Tim’s goes the extra mile.

naomi

Name: Naomi
Years as an expat: 1
If I was a Timbit I would be a sour-cream glazed because it’s just right: not too sweet, not too soft.
Worth a return visit? Won’t be going out of my way.
Verdict: Right now all the differences stand out (see above), but I’m sure I’ll get back in the Timmy’s habit soon enough!

