peameal10001

A while ago I read a debate on Chowhound about what is considered the signature Toronto dish. I remember that the peameal bacon sandwich kept coming up, which made it high on my list of things to try. So on a rainy Saturday morning I headed to St. Lawrence Market with some friends to dive in. I had received top secret, pork-related intel to ignore some of the other stands and head straight to Sausage King.

peameal2-sign0001

Peameal bacon is cured pork loin rolled in cornmeal. I watched closely as they piled up four big slices onto an incredibly fresh kaiser bun. Toppings ranged from a red-coloured garlic spread and 4+ types of mustard to sauerkraut and onions. I opted for mustard, caramelized onions, hot peppers and pickles. In hindsight, the pickles were unnecessary and slightly overpowering. And I did feel like the sandwich would have been extra delicious with a nice slice of cheese. Then again, there are few things in life that wouldn’t be better with some melted cheese.

peameal3-prep0001

Considering it’s still bacon, the ‘wich was quite light and not in the least bit greasy. For around $5, it was a tasty meal that was gobbled up in 4 minutes flat. Note: Don’t trust friends who kindly offer to “hold your sandwich” when you break momentarily to take a sip of tea.

Is this the signature dish in Toronto? I’m not quite convinced, which is as good excuse as any to keep eating my way through the city. However, an advantage point is awarded cause when you’re done with those pieces of meat, you can head next door and pick up some of these:

peameal4-nuts0001

Sausage King / St. Lawrence Market South (Upper Level), 95 Front St. East, Toronto
416 363 7712/ Tues-Thurs 8-6, Fri 8-7, Sat 5-5

